Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


BREAKING: NBC revokes license of AIT, Silverbird TV, 50 other stations nationwide

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has revoked the broadcast licences of Silverbird TV, AIT and fifty other stations across the country over failure to renew their licences amounting to N2.66 billion.


The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has revoked the broadcast licences of Silverbird TV, AIT and fifty other stations across the country over failure to renew their licences amounting to N2.66 billion.

NBC in a statement on Friday noted that the development followed the publication of a list of stations yet to renew their licence by the agency. 

The Commission added that a two-week waiver was given to them in May to do so after which they risked the revocation of their broadcast licences.

But three months after the publication, NBC explained that “some licensees are yet to pay their outstanding debts, in contravention of the National Broadcasting Commission Act CAP N11, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, particularly section 10(a) of the third schedule of the Act.

“Therefore, after due consideration, NBC hereby announces the revocation of the licenses of the…stations and gives them 24 hours to shut down their operations. Our offices nationwide are hereby directed to collaborate with security agencies to ensure immediate compliance.”

The broadcast regulator said the continued operation of the “debtor stations is illegal and constitutes a threat to national security”.

It called on other broadcast stations yet to renew their licences for the present duration to do so within the next 30 days or risk punishment. According to the Commission, Friday’s list is the first batch of offenders, adding that a second batch will soon be released.

“The Commission also calls on all IPTV (Internet Protocol Television) and all other broadcast stations that are streaming online to register with the Commission to avoid disconnection,” it added.

“Broadcasters should note that having a DTT or FM license does not warrant a broadcaster to stream online; they are two different licences.”

The Broadcasting Organisation of Nigeria (BON) says it will work with stakeholders to resolve the matter.

NBC listed the stations to include 

1. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Abuja

2. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Lagos

3. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Yenagoa

4. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Port Harcourt

5. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Jos

6. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communication Ltd) Benin

7. AIT/Ray Power FM (DAAR Communication ltd) Network

8. Greetings FM (Greetings Media Ltd)

9. FM Network Tao FM (Ovidi Communications Ltd)

10. FM Okene, Zuma FM (Zuma FM Ltd)

11. FM Suleja Crowther FM (Crowther Communications Ltd) FM Abuja

12. We FM (Kings Broadcasting Ltd)

13. FM Benin Linksman International Itd

14. Keffi Bomay Broadcasting Services Ltd Abuja

15. MITV (Murhi International Group Ltd) Ibadan

16. Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Port-Harcourt

17. Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Lagos

18. Classic TV (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Lagos

19. Beat FM (Megalectrics LTD) Lagos

20. Cooper Communications Ltd Lagos

21. Splash FM (West Midlands Ltd) Ibadan

22. Osun State Broadcasting Corporation

23. Rock City FM (Boot Communications Ltd) Abeokuta

24. Family FM (Kalaks Investments Nig. Ltd) Ilugun

25. Space FM (Creazioni Nig. Ltd) Ibadan

26. Radio Jeremi (Radio Jeremi Itd) Effurun

27. Breeze FM (Bays Water Ltd) Akure

28. Vibes FM (Vibes Communication Ltd) Benin

29. Family Love FM (Multimesh Broadcasting Co. Ltd) Port-Harcourt

30. Wave FM (South Atlantic Media Ltd)

31. Kogi State Broadcasting Corporation

32. Kwara State Broadcasting Corporation

33. Niger State Broadcasting Corporation

34. Gombe State Broadcasting Corporation

35. Lagos State Broadcasting Corporation

36. Ogun State Broadcasting Corporation

37. Ondo State Broadcasting Corporation

38: Rivers State Broadcasting Corporation

39. Bayelsa State Broadcasting Corporation

40. Cross River State Broadcasting Corporation

41. Imo State Broadcasting Corporation

42. Anambra State Broadcasting Corporation

43. Borno State Broadcasting Corporation

44. Yobe State Broadcasting Corporation

45. Sokoto State Broadcasting Corporation

46. Zamfara State Broadcasting Corporation

47. Kebbi State Broadcasting Corporation

48. Jigawa State Broadcasting Corporation

49. Kaduna State Broadcasting Corporation

50. Katsina State Broadcasting Corporation

51. Lagos DSB

52. Silverbird TV (Silverbird Communications Co. Ltd)

Dear Reader, Excellent journalism is expensive. It is only the same that can help to build our society and country to entrench good governance, and development and ensure justice for all.

We need your support for investigative findings and special reports to demand accountable and transparent government. DONATE today to help us stay relevant to serve your quest for accurate and authentic stories.

DONATE TO 0450702364, naira OR 0657626454, USD – GTBANK


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like Our Facebook Page

You May Also Like


Nigeria’s broadcasting regulator, the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) says it has issued a last warning and vowed to shut down broadcast stations whose programmes...


The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has warned broadcast stations covering the elections against using or allowing their platforms for sharing content that may lead...


Rachael Olokungboye ABUJA – The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has fined Channels Television N5 million for breaching the broadcast code. In a letter to...